Chain armor pattern

Leather, Chain and Plate

Moderators: Enderonimus, Belegarth: Forum Moderators

Chain armor pattern

Postby Saxavarius » Wed Oct 13, 2010 11:48 pm

I'm new to making chainmail and was wondering about the durability of a pattern i found at http://artofchainmail.com/patterns/japanese/hitoye_gusari.html
It looks like it would take less rings/time/money so I thought it might make chainmail easier to make
Saxavarius
Monkey
Monkey

Started Fighting: 0- 4-2010
Realm: Khador
Favorite Fighting Styles: sword and board
spear

Re: Chain armor pattern

Postby NessiePop » Thu Oct 14, 2010 12:21 am

At first glance, to someone who has never made armor, it seems like you would need much smaller rings than some of the other patterns in order to pass for gap size, which seems like it would cancel out the advantage of not using as many rings as those patterns. But I may be totally wrong. Someone better qualified will come along soon, I'm sure.
War Chief of Clan McClung
NessiePop
Barbarian
Barbarian

Started Fighting: 18 Jul 2010
Realm: Crimson Fields
Favorite Fighting Styles: Blatant Lies

Postby Derian » Thu Oct 14, 2010 12:42 am

You need two sizes of rings for it to work, but yeah, it can work. It's probably less rings and less weight, but in the end, it's not going to be that big of a difference. The main difference is going to be the appearance. If you'd rather have Eastern looking armor, go for an Eastern weave. If you want something European, well, go for a European weave.
- Derian -

"An octopus has eight arms, three hearts, five *, two Super Bowl rings, a beak, and the power to solve crimes."
Derian
Become One With the Wind

Started Fighting: 01 Apr 2001
Realm: Nan Belegorn
Unit: Hellhammer
Favorite Fighting Styles: Sword & Board
Pronouns: He / Him

Postby Cib » Thu Oct 14, 2010 12:00 pm