Leather craft

Leather, Chain and Plate

Moderators: Enderonimus, Belegarth: Forum Moderators

Leather craft

Postby Xanthus Adalwulf » Mon Mar 28, 2011 10:41 am

So I'm using some soft leather (Not sure what kind) to try and start making some miscellaneous stuff to go with my garb.

I'm new to leather, so I'm curious if this guide will actually work on soft leather. (Planning on shaping the leather, and I don't want to use the thicker leather)

EDIT:
Reading about the different kinds of ways to harden leather;
So, from the looks of things that *should* work, I'm just a tad worried about
the thickness, if that's gonna be a problem.
Bevin wrote:He means, "You, sir, are **** stupid. So **** stupid, in fact, that I'm fairly certain you don't know how magnets work, much like your juggalo brethren."
Xanthus Adalwulf
Grunt
Grunt

Started Fighting: 20 Mar 2011
Realm: Wolfpack

Re: Leather craft

Postby Derian » Mon Mar 28, 2011 9:36 pm

It really depends on how your leather is tanned. If it's really soft leather, like the scraps you get in a bag at Hobby Lobby or something, it won't work. Most (all) veg-tanned leather looks like this:

If you can post a picture of your leather, someone can likely tell you how it was tanned.
- Derian -

"An octopus has eight arms, three hearts, five *, two Super Bowl rings, a beak, and the power to solve crimes."
Derian
Become One With the Wind

Started Fighting: 01 Apr 2001
Realm: Nan Belegorn
Unit: Hellhammer
Favorite Fighting Styles: Sword & Board
Pronouns: He / Him

Postby Xanthus Adalwulf » Mon Mar 28, 2011 10:34 pm

Derian wrote:It really depends on how your leather is tanned. If it's really soft leather, like the scraps you get in a bag at Hobby Lobby or something, it won't work. Most (all) veg-tanned leather looks like this:

If you can post a picture of your leather, someone can likely tell you how it was tanned.