Armor Help

Leather, Chain and Plate

Moderators: Enderonimus, Belegarth: Forum Moderators

Armor Help

Postby Panahasi » Thu Sep 29, 2011 6:01 pm

Hi there,

So I've been doing Belegarth for a couple of years now, and I am looking to finally make some armor. I want to make some Greek, hoplite style armor, but since I've never made armor before, I am not exactly sure how to begin. I am wondering what types of materials I should use. I don't have loads of money to spend on this project, so I was thinking about maybe making plastic armor. Is that legal, because I didn't see anything preventing it's use? And if I were to make this armor out of leather (which is what I really want) where can I get some leather to work with that's inexpensive?
Panahasi
Recruit
Recruit

Re: Armor Help

Postby Davit » Thu Sep 29, 2011 6:18 pm

First off no, you cannot use plastic for armor, in the BoW under definitions it talks about metal, leather and composite armor, nothing else.

Now for the **** part. Armor is expensive unless you want chain maile. Leather can cost around 100 bucks a side (usually good enough to get most of a suit out of for a standard size person, if you use it right) when it is on sale. Plate is way more expensive. Both require tools to get anything decent looking.

Now for the good part, if you start by talking to someone who makes armor (around where you play) you may be able to get some of their smaller pieces and start piecing your armor together bit by bit. Keep in mind you will most likely have to compensate said person for their leather. Finding someone like this also has the side benifit that you will have someone who at least knows a little about leather working and will be able to help keep you from making mistakes that will cost you more money (and they might even let you use their tools).

Either way you go, find some poster board and set the suit of armor up using it first.

After this I suck at giving advice about armor making stuff.

Good luck to you.