Convention Recruiting

How To Promote Membership

Moderator: Belegarth: Forum Moderators

Convention Recruiting

Postby Teej » Tue Aug 13, 2013 9:35 pm

So, we got a booth to represent all orgs in Florida at Nerdapalooza. We're getting some recognition because our booking is what is flying in * Amano (Final Fantasy concept artist). But, I've never worked a convention before and don't want our stuff to look like a science fair... so any ideas? Suggestions?

We are running a fighting pit IN the concert itself (along with a booth outside), and doing some vending...
Teej
Grizzled Veteran
Grizzled Veteran

Started Fighting: 31 Dec 2005
Unit: Rogues of Gorewood
Favorite Fighting Styles: Spear

Re: Convention Recruiting

Postby Teej » Tue Aug 13, 2013 9:52 pm

And... then I see the pinned topic above. Still open to responses and other advice.
Teej
Grizzled Veteran
Grizzled Veteran

Postby Sir Anastasia » Tue Aug 13, 2013 10:51 pm

I don't really have any advice. We do a small convention called Wyrdcon every year. We usually dress in very nice garb and then act very professional and friendly. If you come up with do's and don'ts, report back to us. And of course, best of luck :)
Cofounder and Marshal of Andúril
Cofounder Battle for the Ring
Order of the Shining Tower
Order of the Western Flame

See you at Battle for the Ring in January www.battleforthering.com
Sir Anastasia
Grizzled Veteran
Grizzled Veteran

Started Fighting: 31 Aug 2001
Realm: Marshal of Anduril
Unit: Wardens
Favorite Fighting Styles: Sword & Board, Extreme Taunting

Postby Sir Thurat » Wed Aug 14, 2013 9:58 am

Sleeping Samurai used to come up to ACEN back when I attended, and they had a fighting ring laid out with line dividers or something like it. They would then charge $1/person or something to get in and fight your buddy, or one of them, and they held a tournament every day in the evening. It was something like $5 to enter, and the winner won a weapon. They were WoTS guys, as I recall.