The real story...

HACS, SCA, Dag, Amtg, NERO, and other similar sports discussion.

Moderator: Belegarth: Forum Moderators

The real story...

Postby Dedric » Fri Nov 14, 2008 10:36 pm

I've been playing Dagorhir for almost two years now. Occasionally someone mentions Belegarth. Sometimes the attitude is that it's just Dagorhir under another name, a lot of people don't care, and of course there's the opinion that they're all d-bags.

So I did my own research, asked around, read Dominus's side of the story, etc. The real kicker is, nowhere could I find Belegarth's side of the story. I know this is going to be a sore spot for some that they would much prefer wasn't brought up, but I feel that if I'm going to attend/recommend Belegarth events, especially after reading what Dominus said (which is pretty damning), I'd like to find out what the Belegarth side is.

So, what's the Belegarth side of the Dagorhir/Belegarth split? (If you have something to say you don't want to post on the boards, feel free to PM or e-mail me.)
Dedric
Underling
Underling

Re: The real story...

Postby debuenzo » Fri Nov 14, 2008 11:03 pm

come to a belegarth event and find out for yourself!
Brother of the Black Company
debuenzo
Hero
Hero

Started Fighting: 30 Aug 2003
Realm: Numenor
Unit: Black Company
Favorite Fighting Styles: sword and shield

Postby Arrakis » Fri Nov 14, 2008 11:18 pm

The real story is that no matter what happened back in the day, now, in 2008, who is it that slanders the other sport, refuses to allow people to type its name on their board, and bans people for mentioning it, even if it's to help someone find a nearby place to fight or to advertise an event so everyone gets to fight more?

Dagorhir.

It's not every Dagorhirrim that's the problem, it's that the leaders run things with an iron fist and refuse to let bygones be bygones and help everyone have fun. Consider Bel the open-source democratic version of Dagorhir's DRM-ed autocracy.
Arrakis
Warning: Knows Math