Dagorhir Bylaws Questions

HACS, SCA, Dag, Amtg, NERO, and other similar sports discussion.

Moderator: Belegarth: Forum Moderators

Dagorhir Bylaws Questions

Postby The Great Gigsby » Sat Jun 13, 2009 6:27 am

Let me preface this with a few things. This post is 100% sincere. I know that can be hard to convey online, but I stand behind everything I've stated. There is no sarcasm, deceit, or conspiracy going on here. I am just a dude. Don't read too far between the lines because I'm not that smart. Here we go...

I'm sure that I'm being a little extreme and that the sky probably isn't falling.

I am also aware that Belegarth's Bylaws aren't a work of art. Don't try to turn the focus on Bel or similar organizations. There are ups and downs to every game. I am trying to be thoughtful, concise, and objective here. I ask that you be the same.

---

Okay, maybe I'm a little new to this Belegarth/Dagorhir thing, but have you guys bothered to read the Dagorhir Bylaws and Contract lately?

http://www.dagorhir.com/aratari/rules/bylaws.pdf

This is so ridiculous, I don't even know where to start.

1. The bylaws are preceded with with this gem. "As with the basic premise of the Dagorhir Game Rules System, common sense supersedes perceived loopholes in these Bylaws." Common sense? Really? DBGA bylaws don't even come close to common sense as anyone who actually bothers to read them would come to understand. Is it common sense to let a coalition of geographically approximate people (I'm being gracious here) oversee and adjust the rules that a national organization follows? What about a single person (Brian Weise?). I can't think of a "common sense" precedent for this. What is common about DBGA War Council, or BoD, or Brian Weise?

2. Who the hell is Brian Wiese anyway, and why does he have absolute veto over the rulebook? Who is this guy? How can this even still happen in America of all places? Why does Dagorhir even need a War Council or BoD when you've got Brian Weise around.