Red close combat

Discuss how to become a better fighter and training methods for teaching new fighters.

Moderator: Belegarth: Forum Moderators

Red close combat

Postby Locknest23 » Mon Mar 17, 2008 9:51 pm

Ive read the other red topics but, im kinda still havin trouble fighting a punch and flail guy. I can do the circle back peddeling manuver however cant do it in a close up fight with boundries( like arena )

so any ideas?
thanks
Locknest23
Recruit
Recruit

Postby Olos » Mon Mar 17, 2008 10:03 pm

I'm no red expert by any means, but in my experience, given equal skill levels, sword and shield has an advantage over red in a 1v1, especially in an enclosed area, and especially with a flail. Being that you are using a red, armor would probably be more beneficial to you than to your friend, but beyond that, like I said, I'm no red expert, so I'll leave it to someone else to try the tactics, I'll only point out holes when they are gaping :)
Brother of the Black Company!
Resident Dwelf.

HEIL o/

GOD WILLS IT!
Olos
Berserker
Berserker

Postby Kyrian » Mon Mar 17, 2008 10:08 pm

You could work on the single-handed swing maneuver. Basically, you let one hand off the grip and let the handle of the sword slide down until you can grasp the pommel. Swing at the fighter's leg as you step out of his range. As long as he doesn't have armor, you stand a good chance of catching one of his legs as you move out of the way.
"...change requires action, it doesn't just happen. Define your actions by how you think the game should be, not how the game is. The game will follow."--Big Jimmy
Kyrian
Hero
Hero

Started Fighting: 0- 8-1991
Realm: Andor
Unit: Clan of the Hydra
Favorite Fighting Styles: sword and board
florentine
archery
Pronouns: he/him

Postby okita » Mon Mar 17, 2008 10:59 pm