Losing Focus in Melees

Discuss how to become a better fighter and training methods for teaching new fighters.

Moderator: Belegarth: Forum Moderators

Losing Focus in Melees

Postby The Great Gigsby » Fri Feb 13, 2009 2:24 am

I could use some help here. I've been fighting in Amt and Bel pretty regularly for about seven years, but I'm only an average lefty fighter. I've got the vocab and the knowledge, I'm just not that great at practicing it. Also, I've sort of plateaued due to isolation and from lacking the discipline to improve as a fighter, but I'm attempting to break through that wall.

In one on one and small group situations, I'm at the top of my game. I feel cool and in control; I can predict the flow of the fight and if I * up, I can figure out what went wrong and aim to fix it. My biggest problem is in larger battles, say fifty or more to a side. The smaller the scale, the more confident I feel, but with large battles, I completely lose my head. I'm more secure in a large amtgard ditch where everyone's flanking or throwing cross shots at light-speed. In a typical Belegarth battle, I'm asleep before the lines even clash, and when they do, I don't know where I should be or what my target is.

Typically, I'm fighting with a pole on the far left flank. I'll be able to gank three or five people before the flank folds or scatters, leaving me vulnerable without a shield to fight by. And the whole time, I have no focus. I literally get tunnel-vision and can't see the arrow that's flying straight at my face, or the enemy shieldman that's only 25 feet to my diagonal. I'm confident that if I could just control the adrenaline a little better and not get so mixed up in these battles that my kill count (and lifespan) would multiply. I just don't know how to regain that perspective that I normally have in a one on one fight.