Quarterstaff Users?

Discuss how to become a better fighter and training methods for teaching new fighters.

Moderator: Belegarth: Forum Moderators

Quarterstaff Users?

Postby Keisai, of Amaterasu » Tue Mar 10, 2009 3:01 am

ok.. i have seen on edhelen that they only sell striking quarterstaffs and none have stab tips, id like to get my hands on one myself.. i have been going to the Realm known as Ravenfeast for a while. they had a quarterstaff out for usage of whoever got it but it was NFS obviously. and im not very good at personally customizing weapons. i was wondering on tips for customizing one from edhelen or finding a quarterstaff with a strike and stab capability at both ends...

and i was also curious as to making a quarterstaff thread seeing as not many people use them and there is no current thread for them.

so... ill just wait and see what i get. out of the replies... and what comes up on proper technique...
:axes: When You've Been Beaten Too Many Times To Care You Have Nothing To Lose :axes:
:axes: Someone With Nothing To Lose Is Your Deadliest Enemy Or Your Greatest Ally :axes:
Keisai, of Amaterasu
Recruit
Recruit

Realm: Ravenfeast
Unit: Order of the Lich
Favorite Fighting Styles: Zweilander with Dagger

Re: Quarterstaff Users?

Postby Cyric » Tue Mar 10, 2009 5:30 am

Quarterstaves are generally ineffective on the field and in sparring, unless you backstab a lot, or get lucky. check the foam smithing forum, there's a ton of stuff about quarterstaves there. Or, do a whole board search, as this has been beaten to death.

You can get a custom one from edhellen, and having a stabby tip on it would increase it's usefulness, but only by a little. The problem with them is that you leave too many openings when you swing it.

They can be fun, but if you're looking at them from the standpoint of battlefield effectiveness, they're pretty useless.
Knight of Numenor
Cyric
Veteran
Veteran

Started Fighting: 23 Aug 1999
Realm: Numenor
Unit: Knights of Numenor