Short Sword V. Long Sword

Discuss how to become a better fighter and training methods for teaching new fighters.

Moderator: Belegarth: Forum Moderators

Short Sword V. Long Sword

Postby Xant » Thu Apr 16, 2009 9:28 pm

I am still pretty new to belegarth. I have been fighting since januaryish. I usually fight about 10 hours a week, maybe more, 6 of that being with other fighters from numenor, and 4 of that being with my friends that go there also. I have been told my many people that me and my friends are extremly good for only fighting for 3 months.

Now to me. I have been using a long broadsword, with stabbing for maybe 2 months. I am starting to feel that it is to slow and or long, and that i might be better off with say a short broadsword. I do swing pretty fast and or hard, and i feel that the longer sword is just holding me down from performing better wraps and or high crosses.

Given that i am 6'3 and 200 lbs, what is your advice?

Also, i do fight with a standard roundshield also.
Xant
Recruit
Recruit

Started Fighting: 0- 2-2009
Realm: Numenor
Unit: Rogue Company
Favorite Fighting Styles: Sword and Board

Re: Short Sword V. Long Sword

Postby Tails » Thu Apr 16, 2009 9:54 pm

Xant wrote:Given that i am 6'3 and 200 lbs, what is your advice?

Also, i do fight with a standard roundshield also.

Do whatever you like; that is my advice, but if you want something less vague then I would say work with the long sword. Shorter sword means you have to get closer. I'm 5'6" and I have fought many people taller then me (I know it's shocking to think about it) and one of the things I have learned is that the taller guys have a harder time up close. Obviously this dose not apply to all people, but just from my experience that's what I have found, but like I said early, do what pleases you.
"Favorite Fighting Styles: adsfdsfsdssdsdsd"
-Seanyviala-
Tails
Veteran
Veteran

Started Fighting: 22 Aug 2007
Realm: Morva
Unit: Clan of the Hydra