Glaive fighters unite

Discuss how to become a better fighter and training methods for teaching new fighters.

Moderator: Belegarth: Forum Moderators

Glaive fighters unite

Postby Eisenwolf » Thu Jul 30, 2009 12:15 pm

hey everyone. i just joined the forum today, and i was wanting to see how many glaive fighters there were out there who wanted to talk shop. i've been messing around with belegarth-type fighting for a few years, but noly seriously started fighting regularly in the last few months. i was raised traditional longsword, but i picked up a glaive and fell in love with it, as it compensates for my lack of natural reach, but is well complimented by my natural agility and control. so anyways, i just wanted to hear from anyone who uses glaives and hopefully learn a few new tricks. thanks for your time!
Live, Laugh, Hunt, Howl.
Mach's gut. Ich mach's besser!
Ich bin ein heidenheimer. Wo kommst DU her?
Flo' Fida :-p

"The bravest are surely those who have the clearest vision of what is before them, glory and danger alike, and yet notwithstanding, go out to meet it."
-Thucydides
Eisenwolf
Recruit
Recruit

Started Fighting: 0- 0-2005
Favorite Fighting Styles: Whatever kills the other guy. :-)

Re: Glaive fighters unite

Postby Azgarehta » Thu Jul 30, 2009 1:54 pm

I fight spear, but some tips to remember about stabbing: Footwork sets your stable base. You should be fighting mostly sideways for a smaller profile. Your weight should shift back to front. To make a solid, bone-jarring hit, you should pull your weight to your front foot, rotate slightly at the hips, back straight, putting the force up through your shoulders, and it will throw your spear forward with a whip-like motion.

You should keep your body loose, but straight. The best practice for this is to get a blue sword with a stabby tip, and practice underhand stabs with it, its the exact same motion.
Azgarehta
Brute
Brute

Started Fighting: 20 Jun 2009
Realm: Arnor
Unit: Black Company