Hand and a half sword techniques?

Discuss how to become a better fighter and training methods for teaching new fighters.

Moderator: Belegarth: Forum Moderators

Hand and a half sword techniques?

Postby Hadrian » Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:23 pm

Hey everybody! I usually fight sword and board, but recently finished a hand and a half sword project of mine! Fighting with a hand and a half sword is leagues different than a sword and kiteshiled, and I wanted to know if anybody had any pointers regarding footwork, stances, guards or anything of the like with a hand and a half sword.

Like I said, I'm a total noob with a hand and a half sword, but I want to expand my knowledge of weapon use beyond my usual sword and shield, and if anybody can give me some tips I'd greatly appreciate it!
"This story shall the good man teach his son; And Crispin Crispian Shall ne'er go by from this day to the ending of the world, but we in it shall be remembered- We few, we happy few, we band of brothers. For he that sheds his blood with me today shall be my brother;" - from William Shakespeare's Henry V
Hadrian
Recruit
Recruit

Started Fighting: 21 May 2006
Realm: Dun Abhon
Favorite Fighting Styles: Sword and Shield

Re: Hand and a half sword techniques?

Postby Magpie Saegar » Sun Mar 14, 2010 8:21 pm

That's my main weapon, and I've developed something of my own style with it.

Find me at an event sometime, and I'll teach you what I know.

General tips: swipe legs, stay very mobile, break shields only when your opponent is kneeling or you've got shieldsmen on your own team to hide near. Also, make it stabby. Do anything you can to keep it so you can hit them but they're just out of range of hitting you.

Quite a bit of the time I start each swing with both hands, but then I release my upper hand so that I have more range. I use this to swipe opponents' legs most of the time, at which point I outrange them and can easily finish them.