Fighting asa unit

Discuss how to become a better fighter and training methods for teaching new fighters.

Moderator: Belegarth: Forum Moderators

Fighting asa unit

Postby Halbrust » Sat Mar 12, 2011 1:02 pm

I suck at it!

I have a small unit, and they generally look to me as the "leader". I can give orders fine, but I generally suck at fighting within a unit.

I'm a decent fighter. I should never be the best on the field, but can hold my own against all but the super-elite. But I am a kamikaze pilot not a squadron leader. I'm a goblin grenade. There was a reason Hulk Smash wasn't in a group like the Fantastic Four!

What do you suggest?
Should I put a unit mate in charge and then they can use me as they see fit?
Should I give orders and then charge into my blaze of glory?
Should I try really hard to fight as a cohesive unit even though it doesn't work for me?

-Halbrust of the Fenrir's Kin
Halbrust
Underling
Underling

Realm: Aggelgorod
Unit: Mercenary

Re: Fighting asa unit

Postby Todo » Sat Mar 12, 2011 1:44 pm

If you want to fight in a unit, don't kamikaze. That's about as counter productive as possible.

Fighting well as a unit isn't just giving or following orders, it's about moving together and recognizing a goal you can achieve through teamwork.

That's really the basic concept, you'll pick up the rest as you go.
Akbar the Foul wrote:If only everyone had my sweet disposition, then we could all get along.

The Steak Jock with Python Arms
**** your petty arguments, I'm here to swing stick and look slick
Todo
Gladiator
Gladiator

Started Fighting: 0- 3-2003
Realm: Stygia
Unit: Todoville
Favorite Fighting Styles: Hulk Hands

Postby Peanut of Loderia » Sat Mar 12, 2011 2:20 pm

Look into History, Warfare and Tactics section. Lots of tips for you.
Peanut of Loderia
Mercenary
Mercenary

Started Fighting: 0- 2-2007
Realm: Loderia
Unit: Clan of the Hydra
Favorite Fighting Styles: Sword and board

Postby Gamera » Mon Mar 14, 2011 12:08 am