Making Red techniques work

Discuss how to become a better fighter and training methods for teaching new fighters.

Moderator: Belegarth: Forum Moderators

Making Red techniques work

Postby timff8 » Fri Apr 17, 2015 1:00 am

I've been fighting for a few months now and I'm trying my best to learn to fight with a smaller red (~54"). I'm aware of the mantras of how to take out sword-n-board but I can't seem to get hem down. I'm hoping there's some tricks I'm just not aware of for each concept.

"Got after the legs." - How do I do this without making my extended arms targets? The legs are far away so I must extend my arms to reach them unless I want to be within easy striking range from even the smallest blue.
"Go after the arms/shoulders." I can't seem to clip them. I don't get how to go after a shoulder aside from waiting for an attack or drawing them out with a feint, which no-one ever buys.
"Making every shot a kill shot." I've heard this many times and it frustrates me. Shield. There's a big shield right there. It's in my way and moves faster than I do around a smaller radius. And no I don't have the power to move the shield sufficiently and still have enough fore to count as a hit.
timff8
Recruit
Recruit

Started Fighting: 15 Aug 2014
Realm: Frozen North
Unit: British long ton
Favorite Fighting Styles: small reds and buckler; FloREDtine

Re: Making Red techniques work

Postby Kyrian » Fri Apr 17, 2015 9:23 am

If you haven't already, consider joining the "Brotherhood of Red" Facebook group:

https://www.facebook.com/groups/178433162242769/

There are active discussions regarding red fighting as well as several resources.

To answer your questions

"Got after the legs." - How do I do this without making my extended arms targets? The legs are far away so I must extend my arms to reach them unless I want to be within easy striking range from even the smallest blue.