Materials for Cores

Making Weapons and Shields

Moderator: Belegarth: Forum Moderators

Materials for Cores

Postby Kansas » Tue Oct 20, 2009 11:45 pm

Hi,

I know I am going to get chewed out for this... I am brand new to belegarth. I am currently working with an experienced player and building my first weapon. My question is this, has anyone tried high capacity Techtron PPS, Acrylic based, or High Density Polymer .250" or .375" rod for a core? These materials come at about 10-15 dollars per foot and have tinsel strengths between 7,500-23,000 psi. It offers almost zero flex and you can beat on it with a hammer all day long. I was just wondering. Here is a link to a seller http://k-mac-plastics.com/pps-rod.htm . Any help in this matter would be appreciated.

Will
Kansas
Recruit
Recruit

Started Fighting: 23 Sep 2009
Favorite Fighting Styles: Sword and Board.

Re: Materials for Cores

Postby bo1 » Wed Oct 21, 2009 12:12 am

you shouldnt get ripped at all, you asked a polite, well contructed question and prefaced that you are working with a vet and are newer. unlike many recent posts i could read this easily, not only that you have done more than 2 seconds of research on what materials you would like to try.

i have not tried them, fiber glass is the tried and true method with kite spar being a light wieght replacement.

i would say try them, money allowing, get a few different type and sizes. build them the same length and get wieghts, flex, and durability. and then there is cost, i think more than $10 for a 3' weapon is a fair bit of money, and i would not pay more than that unless it was something really light and durable.

new materials sometimes look good in a few areas but will fail in one of the 3 areas. stuff that is stiff and strong tend to be heavy, and stuf that is strong and light tend to break, stuff that is light and doesnt break seems to whip like crazy. just what i have run into in trying a few different things i have found.