question about fiberglass cores for my friend

Making Weapons and Shields

Moderator: Belegarth: Forum Moderators

question about fiberglass cores for my friend

Postby Adran Bolar » Wed Jan 25, 2012 4:52 pm

My friend wants to try to build "two curved daggers". I know that if he curves PVC by boiling it will probably break after a little while of fighting. He was wondering if there was anyway to curve fiberglass(I have had VERY little experience with fiberglass so I don't have an answer for him) so is there any way for him to do this?
Adran Bolar
Recruit
Recruit

Started Fighting: 0-11-2010

Re: question about fiberglass cores for my friend

Postby Thumbs » Wed Jan 25, 2012 5:48 pm

I've heard people asking this question for years and have never heard a definitive yes. I have a realm mate who swears it can be done but his first attempt didn't pan out. However if you do succeed I'll be interested to see the results.
Also, when you say curved daggers do you mean Bel style daggers? since Bel daggers are stab only, curving them seems like they would be super easy to mess up with, and not actually stab them with the stabby bits.
Do good recklessly
Thumbs
Barbarian
Barbarian

Realm: stygia
Unit: Gelf
Favorite Fighting Styles: Sword and Board, spear
Pronouns: He/Him

Postby Adran Bolar » Wed Jan 25, 2012 5:56 pm

Oh yeah I didn't even take into account those rules. I shall let him know that they will have to essentially be short blue swords with probable stab tips. But I think I'm gunna make him actually make some basic stuff first 'cause he hasn't made anything before so I think that's why he doesn't know the limits of PVC.
Adran Bolar
Recruit
Recruit

Postby Thumbs » Wed Jan 25, 2012 6:01 pm

first weapon you make should always be a basic blue. like with fighting, single blue will teach you the basis of building any weapon in the game.
Do good recklessly
Thumbs
Barbarian
Barbarian

Realm: stygia
Unit: Gelf
Favorite Fighting Styles: Sword and Board, spear