It is currently Fri Sep 20, 2019 5:10 pm


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Serach yielded nothing so here it is.
PostPosted: Fri Nov 30, 2012 10:38 pm 
Underling
Underling
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 11:23 am
Posts: 85
Location: Port Orchard, WA
Started Fighting: 01 Jun 2008
Realm: Talinor
Unit: Order of Endor
Favorite Fighting Styles: Red,Two Weapon, S&B, Archery.
Building a Tomahawk. not throwing of course. just a good middle grip one. long pommel to keep rules obeyed. only question. the back spike...am i allowed to make a legal dagger tip here or no???

i want to think its illegal due to swung stabbing..but i swear i saw a halberd tutorial somewere with one..i may be wrong. any tips,pictures for inspiration of succesfull tomahawks, and advice are welcome and needed.


also..a friend is wanting to make a version of a bel legal staff...but with out striking...just a spear...i said it is not ok by the rules. Am i correct??

_________________
Once you have taken a few punches and realized your not made of glass,you don't feel alive unless your pushing yourself as far as you can go.


Top
 OfflineProfile  
 Post subject: Re: Serach yielded nothing so here it is.
PostPosted: Fri Nov 30, 2012 11:06 pm 
Boo Radley
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2009 11:36 pm
Posts: 2055
Location: Central IL
Started Fighting: 03 Jan 2009
Realm: Grond
Unit: Sons of Sylas
Favorite Fighting Styles: Boot and Bottle
Swung is swung. Thrusting is thrusting. You may have to -build- the back head like a dagger to make it safe, but it will do damage like a blue.


And your friend wants to make a short spear. Cool? Or does it want it stabby on both ends? If so, thems the breaks on the rules. It has to be striking legal on both ends.

_________________
Squire to Sir Calarn the Black
Palatine and Acolyte of the Sons of Sylas
"But in life, the young king becomes a tyrant, and leads his people to war."


Top
 OfflineProfile  
 Post subject: Re: Serach yielded nothing so here it is.
PostPosted: Fri Nov 30, 2012 11:11 pm 
Underling
Underling
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 11:23 am
Posts: 85
Location: Port Orchard, WA
Started Fighting: 01 Jun 2008
Realm: Talinor
Unit: Order of Endor
Favorite Fighting Styles: Red,Two Weapon, S&B, Archery.
ok thanks ill let him know its a no go.

as for the back spike..will that pass if its not 6 inches?? i thought striking had to be blade style construction?

_________________
Once you have taken a few punches and realized your not made of glass,you don't feel alive unless your pushing yourself as far as you can go.


Top
 OfflineProfile  
 Post subject: Re: Serach yielded nothing so here it is.
PostPosted: Sat Dec 01, 2012 9:43 pm 
Underling
Underling

Joined: Tue Apr 07, 2009 8:47 am
Posts: 70
Started Fighting: 01 Jan 2009
Realm: Numenor
Flynn Cu Maige wrote:
ok thanks ill let him know its a no go.

as for the back spike..will that pass if its not 6 inches?? i thought striking had to be blade style construction?

It's just how you swing a weapon that defines whether it's green or blue. Thus if you're thrusting it (which you're not) it's green. Since you're swinging it it's blue. As long as it passes template, you won't have an issue.

_________________
Squire to Sir Treethump


Top
 OfflineProfile  
 Post subject: Re: Serach yielded nothing so here it is.
PostPosted: Sun Dec 02, 2012 5:10 pm 
Slayer
Slayer
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 05, 2006 7:21 pm
Posts: 1061
Location: Carbondale, IL
Started Fighting: 02 Apr 2006
Realm: Carthage
Unit: Clan of the Hydra
Favorite Fighting Styles: Red Sword - S&B - Florentine
Flynn Cu Maige wrote:
ok thanks ill let him know its a no go.

as for the back spike..will that pass if its not 6 inches?? i thought striking had to be blade style construction?


The book of war does not tell us how a weapon has to be constructed, not in particular. The back spike must pass the 2.5" rule if it is built in a cylindrical fashion or, if it is a flat blade style, it must have a 1.5" radius.

I'm not sure what you're referencing as far as 6" goes. For a class 1 weapon (blue) your weapon must be 12" + the length of the pommel and the handle. This means that you must have at least 12" of blade/haft. So, a small axe that has a 6" head and 6" of haft will pass.

As for your friend's idea, yeah, you're correct. For a double ended weapon you must have a minimum of 18" of cylindrical striking surface on each end of the weapon, and if one side is stabbing legal both sides must pass for stabbing. If any of these criteria is not met, then the weapon is not legal.

Please post again if we did not adequately answer your questions.

_________________
Realm of Carthage War Council Representative
Squire to Sir Morpheus of Wolfpack of the High Plains
Realm Map Curator
Master Seneschal


Top
 OfflineProfile  
 Post subject: Re: Serach yielded nothing so here it is.
PostPosted: Sun Dec 02, 2012 8:19 pm 
Underling
Underling

Joined: Fri Mar 27, 2009 1:01 pm
Posts: 62
Started Fighting: 13 Oct 2005
Realm: Angaron
Unit: Drentha
Favorite Fighting Styles: Sword and Shield, Archery, Javelin
The 6" striking surface rule is a Dagorhir, not Belegarth, requirement.


Top
 OfflineProfile  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 6 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron

Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
GuildWarsAlliance Style by Daniel St. Jules of Gamexe.net. Modified by