Red Weapon Crossguard Rules? (Monster Hunter Lance)

Making Weapons and Shields

Moderator: Belegarth: Forum Moderators

Red Weapon Crossguard Rules? (Monster Hunter Lance)

Postby Suzaku » Sat Jan 19, 2013 4:40 pm

So I'm new to Belegarth and I recently constructed a Red/Green weapon last week based off of the Anti-Monster Lances from the Monster Hunter Video game series.

I recently brought it to an event and it was failed on grounds of the crossguard was larger than 12 inch limit and they could feel the core through the flat of the blade.

I'm currently in the process of correcting the core issue, however I couldn't dig anything up in the rules about the crossguard being 12 inches or a certain percentage of the weapon. I might have missed it in the rulebook or the rule book might be out of date. Does anyone have anymore info on this?

The weapon is sandwich style reinforced by cloth tape + dap and surrounded by a layer of perpendicular foam on the sandwich.
Suzaku
Recruit
Recruit

Started Fighting: 18 Jan 2013
Favorite Fighting Styles: Monster Hunter Lance

Re: Red Weapon Crossguard Rules? (Monster Hunter Lance)

Postby The Great Gigsby » Sat Jan 19, 2013 8:13 pm

Suzaku wrote:I couldn't dig anything up in the rules about the crossguard being 12 inches or a certain percentage of the weapon.
There isn't a specific rule against it, but large handguards can (and often will) be failed on account of:

BoW wrote:1.4. Creative interpretation of the rules to gain any advantage is discouraged. These rules are intentionally sparse to allow for ease of use. The Marshal, according to these rules, and medieval foam combat precedent, settles all disputes.

Your ludicrously huge handguard could be seen as an attempt to gain an unfair advantage since it functions as an unbreakable shield. Reasonably sized crossguards and handguards are allowed, but that's because there's plenty of precedent in Belegarth and historically. They also look cool.