Alternative foams and other naive Q's

Making Weapons and Shields

Moderator: Belegarth: Forum Moderators

Alternative foams and other naive Q's

Postby Bitter » Sat Apr 12, 2014 8:59 pm

I'm new to building and have been constructing all of my weapons directly off of geddon's instruction. Which is fine, but in speaking with other Belegrim I've had discussions of various ways to construct swords using 2lb and 4lb foam and a myriad of other confusing suggestions. My questions are thus:

1) Please define 2 and 4lb foam. What is it? Any examples of where to find it?

2) Is the construction of a speedbat/roundsword the same or comparable to the construction of a club?

3) Any suggestions for making a smaller pommel? The standard directions end up being bulky on smaller swords. I'm working with a 1/2" PVC core.

Thanks!
Bitter
Recruit
Recruit

Started Fighting: 22 Feb 2014
Realm: Nightfort

Re: Alternative foams and other naive Q's

Postby Tails » Sat Apr 12, 2014 9:46 pm

1) Please define 2 and 4lb foam. What is it? Any examples of where to find it?

blue foam is 2#, puzzle mat is 4#. You can find them at walmart and target respectively. The poundage refers to density. a 1'x1'x1' cube of foam weighs 4lbs if it is 4# foam.

2) Is the construction of a speedbat/roundsword the same or comparable to the construction of a club?

The Foams are different, but I'd defer this question to someone who uses bats more than I. I have heard that these two items make a pretty light bat considering how easy it is.
http://www.warlordsports.com/Gear.aspx?item=36
http://www.warlordsports.com/Gear.aspx?item=59

3) Any suggestions for making a smaller pommel? The standard directions end up being bulky on smaller swords. I'm working with a 1/2" PVC core.

not working with pvc is a good start. They are good for a first weapon to get your sea legs, but fiberglass is much better.
"Favorite Fighting Styles: adsfdsfsdssdsdsd"
-Seanyviala-
Tails
Veteran
Veteran

Started Fighting: 22 Aug 2007