Making good fabric inlay the cheap and long way (56k is lol)

Garb, Music, Historical Discussions

Moderator: Belegarth: Forum Moderators

Making good fabric inlay the cheap and long way (56k is lol)

Postby Shino » Sun Dec 26, 2010 2:35 pm

This is a tutorial on inlaying an image onto another piece of fabric. It is time consuming and requires attention to detail but this process has a low degree of difficulty and the results are very clean and impressive.

My name is Shino and I've been fighting and member of Belegarth for near eight years now. I've been sewing off and on over the same period of time. I like to challenge myself with new sewing projects and you should too. It's a great way to learn new techniques and come up with some bomb grab ideas.
But enough about that, you're here to learn or at least scroll over my thread and look at the pictures. That's ok too.

This tutorial is for those who have some basic experience with sewing so don't get mad when I don't explain every little detail. You can click on the links under the pictures for larger images.

What you will need
* Time
* Some way of making a stencil. I used bristol paper, scissors, and a ruler
* Like fabrics. Using fabrics that are similar or the same material is essential. Also, heavier fabrics will work best for this. I used duck cloth.
* A glue stick
* A sewing machine that can do zigzag stitching
* A seam ripper or razor in case you make mistakes

Step one Making the stencil

This step is optional I guess but it sure does help a lot. Also, when you finish you will have a stencil that you can use again on other projects.
This step took some of the most time. I made sure my stencil was as close to symmetrical as I could. I was also enlarging and copying someone's heraldry by hand. It's worth it to make sure your design is perfect especially if it's popular or geometric because mistakes will stand out.

Here is how it looked
http://i52.tinypic.com/6jghlc.jpg