Garb and Science Ranking System

Garb, Music, Historical Discussions

Moderator: Belegarth: Forum Moderators

Garb and Science Ranking System

Postby Bear » Thu Jan 13, 2011 5:09 pm

So, my realm has been toying with combat and archery ranks for a while to help show advancement within the realm and the point was made that we do not have anything for the non combatants to help show their progression within the realm. I was wondering if any of you had suggestions for challenges that one must accomplish to gain a rank in in "Non-Combatant Activities". I honestly have no idea where to start because I have little experience with arts clothing and sciences so any suggestions help a ton.

As a reference to the difficulty of ranking we have rank 1 and 2 listed as having a simple quiz of the basics and slightly more than basics as well as some simple tests of proficiencies all the way to rank six where you would have to win a tournament and defeat two opponents 4 our of 4 times.
Psychedelic Saturn
Bear
Grunt
Grunt

Started Fighting: 10 Apr 2010
Realm: Pyke the Iron Port
Unit: God Squad
Favorite Fighting Styles: Spear
Red
Sword and Board
Pronouns: He/Him

Re: Garb and Science Ranking System

Postby The Great Gigsby » Thu Jan 13, 2011 5:39 pm

Look at the Amtgard ladder awards for ideas, specifically Order of the Garber.

http://amtwiki.net/amtwiki/index.php/Ladder_award
-Giggles

HORDE WIN!
The Great Gigsby
Hero
Hero

Unit: Horde

Postby Bear » Thu Jan 13, 2011 6:19 pm

Thank you for the link, it helped me get off to a good start. I like the idea of providing accessories to the winners of tournaments being a requirement.

Also, what are some simple questions one could ask as to tests someone's knowledge of the basics? Examples could be "Name 3 different types of stitches" or something along those lines. Again, I am definitely not the best person to be figuring out these things due to my inexperience which is why I am asking your advice :D.
Psychedelic Saturn
Bear
Grunt
Grunt