Semi-Circular Arrowheads.

Topics For Experienced Members

Moderator: Belegarth: Forum Moderators

Semi-Circular Arrowheads.

Postby Plithut » Thu Jan 23, 2014 10:28 am

I have been on a personal crusade these last couple years to get round-tipped arrows into our game. They fly better than flat faced arrows and the force is more evenly distributed throughout the entire head of the arrow.

I have been using Semi-circular Arrowheads for the last 5 years in Bele. They have failed at two events for the template rule (Chaos Wars XV and Battle for the Ring VI). The tip of the arrowhead emerges through the 2.5" hole the most marginal amount. I believe that semi-circular arrows should not be failed for this rule.

My argument is based upon the fact that we already make a rule concession for swords with a semi-circular tip.

Book of War wrote:1.3.3. Two and one-half inch rule-No surface on a striking edge (sword tip, arrow head, spear head, javelin head, etc.) whether designed for stabbing or not, may readily pass more than 0.5 inch through a 2.5 inch hole; swords with a semicircular tip, with a minimum 1.5 inch radius are exempt from this rule

Photo for reference

Kyrian and I came up with some basic guidelines for checking round-headed arrows, which would only require a small addition to the BoW.

"Arrows with semi-circular tips must not readily pass more than 0.5 inch through a 2.0 inch hole."

I believe this to be in the spirit of the rules as well as something to easily reference.

Thoughts?
Dragoon Plithut
Sir Plithut - 17th Knight of the Highlands (Retired)
Genetically Enhanced Life Form - GELF
God Squad - Mayhem Muhammad
Hell Hammer - Slaanesh Entices
Plithut
Grizzled Veteran
Grizzled Veteran

Started Fighting: 01 Apr 2002
Realm: Babylon
Unit: GodSquad-HellHammer-Gelfs
Favorite Fighting Styles: Florentine and Archery

Re: Semi-Circular Arrowheads.

Postby Cyric » Thu Jan 23, 2014 11:08 am