It is currently Thu Nov 23, 2017 1:26 am


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 2 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: 3.7.4 - Strikes from behind
PostPosted: Mon Mar 13, 2017 2:08 pm 
Underling
Underling
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 25, 2009 8:27 pm
Posts: 87
Started Fighting: 19 Apr 2009
Realm: Thunder Guard
Favorite Fighting Styles: Sword and board, spear
Quote:
3.7.4. Combatants attacking an unaware combatant with a Class 2 or 3 weapon must shout “Two” with a two-handed Class 2 swing, “Three” with a one-handed Class 3 shot, and “Double” if with two-handed Class 3 attack as appropriate. If the weapon class is not called, the combatant should consider a successful strike to cause a single hit.

If the weapon class is not called, the combatant should consider a successful strike to cause a single hit.

I find this sentence problematic. It is often possible to tell whether a hit is one or two-handed based upon the force with which the shot was delivered or by observing the person who hit you AFTER you were hit (If someone is running behind a line stabbing/swinging everyone with a double, it's safe to assume that you were also hit by a double even if it wasn't expressly called).

There is no reason for which someone should take a single when they determine through observation that they should have taken a double.

Quote:
If the weapon class is not called, and the combatant can not determine whether a single or double hit was delivered, the combatant should consider a successful strike to cause a single hit.


This makes significantly more sense to me. Thoughts?

_________________
Ranting about the BoW so you don't have to.
(More rants here: http://board.belegarth.com/viewforum.php?f=66)


Last edited by Akroth on Tue Mar 14, 2017 11:04 am, edited 6 times in total.

Top
 OfflineProfile  
 Post subject: Re: 3.7.4 - Strike from behind with green weapon
PostPosted: Mon Mar 13, 2017 3:58 pm 
Slayer
Slayer
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 05, 2006 7:21 pm
Posts: 1000
Location: Carbondale, IL
Started Fighting: 02 Apr 2006
Realm: Kingdom of Knightfall
Favorite Fighting Styles: Red Sword - S&B - Florentine
I like it. I've heard the argument before that someone shouldn't have to take a two-handed strike to the back if the attacker didn't call it out, even if they saw it was two-handed. To me that's cheating, but the rule as it is supports it.

_________________
"It is a brave act of valour to contemn death; but where life is more terrible than death, it is then the truest valour to dare to live."


Top
 OfflineProfile  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 2 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 6 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron

Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
GuildWarsAlliance Style by Daniel St. Jules of Gamexe.net. Modified by